English news, 19 June 2019

Written by on 19/06/2019

University students from Cape Town march to the NSFAS head office

A group of Cape Town students, representing various student organisations and student representative councils have marched to the head office of the National Student Financial Aid Scheme in Wynberg. They are demanding meal allowances and fast tracking of appeals on rejected applications for funding. The group carrying placards and singing struggle songs gathered at the Kenilworth train station before marching to the NSFAS head office. They represent diverse political backgrounds including the EFF Student Command, Sasco and Pan Africanist Student Movement of Azania from all tertiary institutions in the province. General Secretary of the South African Union of Students representing SRCs, Lwandile Mtsolo says due to the centralisation of the NSFAS office, a backlog of applications is being experienced. Mtsolo says they demand regional offices in all provinces. He says more than 10 000 students have thus far not received their meal allowances and their appeals have not been processed. Police are keeping a watchful eye on proceedings.

Hermanus Eviction postponed

A court application to evict Hermanus residents already occupying prime land named “Dubai” was postponed by the Western Cape High Court today.The court granted a request by residents of Schulphoek for more time to prepare their case against the eviction.Community leader Gcobani Ndzongana…clip…

Tierhoek to pay R3.5 million fine

A Clanwilliam farmer has been slapped with a multi-million rand fine for water and environmental transgressions.Tierhoek Boerdery was taken to court last year. It has been found guilty of 11 transgressions.Tierhoek first appeared in court after the department conducted the first monitoring and enforcement blitz in the West Coast region in November 2017.The Water and Sanitation Department said the farm’s owner didn’t apply for a licence to construct dams.The farmer built two dams and intentionally did not register them within 120 days.Spokesperson Sputnik Ratau explained that the  farmer intentionally didn’t comply with the act and stored water without authorisation.Tierhoek now has to pay a R3.5 million fine.

Sean Davison sentenced to three years

Professor Sean Davison, has been effectively sentenced to three years house arrest in the High Court in Cape Town after entering into a plea agreement with the state. He was charged with three counts of pre-mediated murder involving the assisted suicide of Anrich Burger, Justin Varian and Richard Holland. In a brief appearance in the High Court, Davison, received an eight year sentence suspended for five years. This means that he will not serve any jail time. He has also been placed under three years correctional supervision which entails house arrest. He will however be able to continue to work, go to church and is allowed medical visits. The court also heard that the families of the three men agreed that Davison should not be jailed.

The ANC has finally taken decisions on Whips

The ANC has unveiled the names of members it wants to be whips, house chairpersons and committee chairs in Parliament.The process had been delayed amid reports of behind-the-scenes tussling over the list of names.The alliance secretariat met yesterday after the Sunday Times reported that President Cyril Ramaphosa had to step in to avert a “parliamentary coup” by party secretary general Ace Magashule.At this afternoon’s announcement Magashule insisted the process had been rigorous and the men and women nominated would steer Parliament along the “correct path”.The list appears to be a compromise aimed at satisfying different factions within the ANC. Notably, a number of members of Parliament who were implicated in alleged wrongdoing have been nominated.These include Bongani Bongo, accused of attempting to bribe the evidence leader in Parliament’s inquiry into state capture at Eskom, nominated for the Home Affairs committee.
Former North West Premier Supra Mahumapelo is up for the tourism committee, Faith Muthambi for the Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Committee, while Sfiso Buthelezi is nominated for the Standing Committee on Appropriations.Asked about the calibre of some of those nominated, ANC chief whip Pemmy Majodina said people appeared before the party’s integrity commission and were cleared. She said until proven guilty by a court of law, they were innocent.Former Justice Committee chairperson Mathole Mothshekga is up to head the adhoc committee tasked with amending the Constitution to explicitly allow for the expropriation of land without compensation. Cedrick Frolick returns to the powerful position of Chair of Chairs, for which Nomvula Mokonyane was chosen before she decided to step down as an MP.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zibonele FM

Zibonele FM

Current track

%d bloggers like this: